What Do I Need to Know About Florida Auto Insurance?
Like most states, Florida has a variety of rules and regulations when it comes to auto insurance. Some are aimed toward the insurance company and others are aimed toward the drivers. For the purposes of this paper, we will look at the ins and outs of Florida auto insurance as it pertains to the driver. Below are some common questions and their follow up answers to help inform you if you are planning a move to Florida. If you are simply looking for a Florida Auto Insurance Quote you can visit https://floridainsurancequotes.net/florida-auto-insurance/ and get one from every insurance company available.
Does Everyone In Florida Need Auto Insurance?
The short answer is yes. If you have a vehicle that has at least four wheels and is registered in the state of Florida, you will need to have auto insurance. This is Florida law and it needs to be followed.
Do I Have to Buy A Certain Amount or Can I Just Get Minimal Coverage?
The state of Florida does have a minimum requirement when it comes to auto insurance. The registered driver needs to have a minimum coverage of $10,000 for both personal injury and property damage coverage. You will be able to find different deductibles for this coverage, but keep in mind, these too will also affect the premium you pay.
What If I Drive A Cab? Are There Requirements for Me Too?
Yes. Even if the only car you drive in the state of Florida is a cab or taxi, you need to be covered. I fact, the amount of coverage required is even more than for a standard driver. You must carry $50,000 coverage for property damage insurance. IN terms of personal injury, you are required to have coverage of $125,000 per person and $250,000 per occurrence of an accident.
What If I Don’t Have Coverage?
If you do not have coverage in the state of Florida, your driving privilege may be suspended by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. This will include your plates and registration of your vehicle. They can hold this suspension for up to 3 years or until you can provide the proper paperwork and proof that you have insurance and are in compliance with Florida law.
If I Am Moving To Florida and I Have Insurance in My Old State, Am I Okay?
Actually, no. If you are moving into the state of Florida, you must still have the required amount of coverage, issued to you from an insurance company that is licensed to sell insurance in the state of Florida. Now keep in mind that most of your major companies are licensed in most states including Florida. This means that all you will really have to do if you belong to any of these companies is have your local agent transfer your existing policy to a Florida agent once you are ready to register in Florida.
I hope this helps to clear up some of your questions in regards to Florida Auto Insurance from https://floridainsurancequotes.net/florida-auto-insurance/. If you have further questions, you can always contact your auto insurance agent or the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.